Posted by: greeningwashington | January 25, 2011

Now I am Myself

I have just cracked open Anne Sexton’s collection of complete poems; I am ready. Like many brilliant and tragic women poets before her, Sexton lived in a world of depression and longing. She was criticized for her revealing poetry that touched on issues real and germane¬† to women of her time. I predict reading her collective works will change my life and allow me to forgive myself for being an emotional, compassionate and irrational woman. I am defined in my own terms, and my feelings are acceptable. I am acceptable. I am enough.

Her first poem You, Doctor Martin is about the Dr. that salvaged her mind from darkness while she was in an institution. A few lines from the poem:

I am queen of all my sins forgotten.

Am I still lost?

Once I was beautiful. Now I am myself,

counting this row and that row of moccasins

waiting on the silent shelf.

Leave a Reply

Categories

